The Korean Association of
Gerontology and Geriatrics

International Congress

International Congress

The IAGG(International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics) was first established in Belgium in July 1950. It was established to improve the quality of life of the world’s elderly by sharing research results on health, welfare and rights, functioning as a worldwide network to achieve the goal. It was originally known as the international Association of Gerontological Societies and then It was later changed to the international Association of Gerontology(IAG). In 2004, the IAG’s Council of Directors decided to include geriatrics in the name., hence the change to IAGG for the 18th World Congrss in 2005. Now it has organizations in 64 countries representing each country from five oceans and six continents. This international academic organization boasts a world membership of over 45,100.
The IAGG is working as a UN consultant and it also a member of CONGO(Conference of Non-governmental Organizations).
Between 1951 and 1981 world congresses of gerontology were opened every three years and from 1985, they have been held every 4 years. In addition IAGG regional conferences representing six countries open every four years. The 6th Asia-Oceania Regional Congress of the International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics was successfully held in Seoul in 1999 and the 8th Asia-Oceania Regional Congress is scheduled to be held in Beijing, China in 2007. More information about the IAGG can be found at http://www.iagg.com.br

Regional Congress

The IAGG Regional Congress of Gerontology and Geriatrics is now being every four years in six continents by each regional organization between the years that the World Congresses are held. Thus, in the Asia/Oceania region, the Reginal Congress of Gerontology and Geriatrics is being held every four years as an off-year congress. The 8th Regional Congress is expected to be held in BeiJing, China in 2007. The 14 countries participating in the IAGG Asis/Oceania Regional Congress include Australia North Korea, Hong-Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philipine, China, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand and South Korea. Detailed information about the 8th Asia/Oceania Regional Congress can be obtained by going to the homepage at http://www.aog.2007.org